Change the world

Campus Football League

The NMMU Campus Football League recently donated a soccer kit to Tyhilulwazi Senior Secondary School in fulfillment of the 2009 NMMU CFL Memorial Award. School principal, Mr. Magxwalisa, and the Tyhilulwazi soccer first team were on hand to receive the soccer kit from personnel from NMMU Soccer and the NMMU CFL. Located in Izinyoka township near the NMMU Missionvale campus, Tyhilulwazi Senior Secondary School became the second-ever recipients of the award after the donation of a similar soccer kit to Walmer High School in 2008.

09 CFL Memo Award

2009 NMMU CFL Memorial Award:
Vista's Ayanda “Raantjie” Lwana hands over the soccer kit to
Tyhilulwazi Senior Secondary School principal
Mr Magxwalisa while the players look on

Speaking at the handover ceremony, Mr. Magxwalisa spoke of the role of sport in promoting positive behavior among the pupils. “In this area, we are battling with issues such as high crimes rates and poor pupil attendance in schools. Providing sport is one of the ways in which we can promote learning and stress the value of education. The benefits of this soccer kit donation by the NMMU CFL do not end on the soccer field but today these players have been inspired to attend university as well”. These sentiments were echoed by NMMU Soccer Manager, Mark Tommy, who offered a challenge to the players. “As much as we sponsored the kit, it should be an encouragement to the players and students at large to emulate the leaders of the future”.

The donation of a soccer kit is the latest in a series of NMMU-related initiatives involving Tyhilulwazi Senior Secondary School in 2009. Grade 12 pupils at the school took part in the National Youth Services Tutoring Program at NMMU Missionvale Campus. Extra lessons were given for Mathematics, Accounting, Economic Management Sciences, Natural Sciences and English in preparation for the trial and end of year exams. The school also made its debut in the Missionvale Altech Autopage Top 8 Knock-out Tournament organized by NMMU Soccer.

Personnel CFL Memo Award

Supporting the NMMU CFL Memorial Award:
(from left) CFL Webmaster Zuko Nakasa,
NMMU Soccer Manager Mark Tommy,
principal Mr Magxwalisa and Ayanda Lwana.

The NMMU CFL is a student social soccer league with participation from teams on the Summerstrand, Second Avenue and Missionvale campuses. The CFL Memorial Award is presented on an annual basis in memory of students who have passed away while playing in the NMMU CFL. The soccer kit is sponsored by former players of the NMMU CFL and the league champions in each year determine the recipients of the award.

Tyhilulwazi was selected by the 2009 NMMU CFL champions, Vista, who are based on the NMMU Missionvale campus. According to the Vista team captain, Ayanda Lwana,Tyhilulwazi was a deserving recipient for the CFL Memorial Award. “We chose Tyhilulwazi because the school is facing various obstacles when it comes to the provision of sport. It’s never easy for a school in the location to secure sponsorship and we are proud to assist Tyhilulwazi.”